IIM Colleges in India

The Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs) is established by Jawaharlal Nehru, the Honorable Prime Minister of India. These are a family of 13 self-governing institutes of management and research education in India. The main objective behind the establishment of IIMs was enhancing the quality of education in management field in India. The courses primarily offered by the IIMs are executive education, doctorate and postgraduate programmes.

IIMs are enlisted under the Indian Societies Registration Act as societies. Each IIM is a self-governing body and executes its day-to-day operations independently. However, the IIM council controls the overall administration and strategy of all IIMs. The IIM Council is basically comprised of directors and chairpersons of all IIMs and higher officials from Ministry of Human Resource Development of the Indian government, headed by the Minister of Human Resource Development.

Courses Offered at IIMs

All the IIMs provide a flagship programme of two-year Post Graduate Programme in Management (PGP). The older IIMs also provide a one-year Post Graduate diploma Programme for graduates who have a work experience of 5 years or more. The level of these post graduate diploma programmes is considered matchable to the MBA programmes offered by top universities like Harvard, Insead, IMD and Leeds University Business School. These programmes are also ranked in renowned international rankings such as FT global MBA ranking. Part-time programmes and short-term executive education courses are also offered by many IIMs.

History of IIMs

The first IIM set up in India was Indian Institute of Management Calcutta, on 13 November 1961. Its main campus is located on the outskirts of Kolkata in Joka, The second IIM set up was Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad, on 16 December 1961. The third IIM which established was Indian Institute of Management Bangalore in 1973. The main location of this campus is Bilekahalli, Bangalore. Indian Institute of Management Lucknow is the fourth IIM, which was established in 1984. Apart from its main campus in Lucknow, it has another campus in Noida. The Noida campus was set up in 2007 and concentrates basically on executive programmes. Other IIMs are Indian Institute of Management Kozhikode(the fifth IIM), Indian Institute of Management Indore(the sixth IIM), Indian Institute of Management Shillong(the seventh IIM), Indian Institute of ManagementRohtak (the eighth IIM), Indian Institute of Management Ranchi( the ninth IIM) , Indian Institute of ManagementRaipur( the tenth IIM) , Indian Institute of Management Tiruchirappalli (the eleventh IIM), Indian Institute of Management Udaipur (the twelfth IIM) and Indian Institute of Management Kashipur (the thirteenth and newest IIM).

Follow us on

Newsletter Subscription


© Copyright 2021, All Rights Reserved.